Skip to content
Quick Start for:

New State Laws
Fees, Charges, and Out-of-Pocket Expenses
Impact on Texans' Lives and Livelihoods



Children
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
CHIP premiums and co-payments HB 1 Increase monthly premium from an average of $0 to $18 per month to $0 to $25 per month (based on family income) and raise co-payment caps. $57,937,000 Health and Human Services Commission www.hhsc.state.tx.us 424-6500
Youth camp license fees HB 2350 Resident youth camp annual license fee increased to $750 from $40, and day youth camp annual license fee increased to $375 from $25. $737,000 Texas Department of Health www.tdh.state.tx.us 458-7111
Child support fees paid by recipients HB 2588 Impacts all recipients not on welfare: (1) $25 annual fee on cases enforced and paid through AG, (2) $3 monthly fee on cases paid through but not enforced by AG, and (3) $10 parent locator fee. $12,805,000 Office of the Attorney General www.oag.state.tx.us 463-2100



Teachers and School Employees
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Retired and active teacher and school employee copays HB 1* Increase in office visit and prescription drug copays for retired staff. $86,000,000* Teacher Retirement System www.trs.state.tx.us 542-6400
Retired and active teacher and school employee premiums HB 1* Increase in premiums for retired workers. $179,000,000* Teacher Retirement System www.trs.state.tx.us 542-6400
Fee for new Master Science Teacher exam HB 411 New Master Science Teacher exam and related increase in exam fees to $82. $50,000 State Board for Educator Certification www.sbec.state.tx.us 238-3200
State's share of teacher and school employee health insurance supplement cut in half for full-time teachers HB 3459 Annual reductions: $1,000 for non-teaching professional staff making over $50,000 annually; $500 for teachers and other full-time staff making less than $50,000; and $750 for part-time staff. $711,200,000 Teacher Retirement System www.trs.state.tx.us 542-6400
Active teacher and school employee contributions for retired teacher and school employee health care HB 3459 Contributions by active participants to the retired staff program doubled from 0.25% to 0.50% of pay. $106,000,000 Teacher Retirement System www.trs.state.tx.us 542-6400
* The dollar amount shown only speaks to retired teachers and other retired employees. The amount for active teachers and other active employees participating in Activecare are also impacted, but the amount cannot be estimated at this time. However, there are approximately the same number of Activecare participants as retired participants.



Health Care
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Costs to state employees for health care HB 1 Increases include copays for office and specialist visits, copays for prescription drugs, deductible for prescription drugs, emergency room visits, home health care, and "durable medical equipment" (such as wheelchairs). $431,000,000 Employee Retirement System www.ers.state.tx.us 476-6431
Fee for abortion facility license HB 15 TDH to recover regulatory costs for new Chap. 171 (informed consent). $481,000 Texas Department of Health www.tdh.state.tx.us 458-7111
Fees on rural doctors HB 1877 Collects fees from participating rural doctors to fund the Rural Physician Relief Program. The program provides a relief physician for rural doctors who are away from their practice at no charge. Participation is voluntary and only those physicians who participate are charged a fee. The fee is set by Office of Rural Community Affairs, which has not determined the amount of the fee. $4,816,000 Office of Rural Community Affairs www.orca.state.tx.us 936-6701
Fee on nurses HB 2208 Fees to be set by Board of Nurse Examiners to recover the cost of performing criminal history checks on applicants and license holders. Board anticipates cost of $39 per applicant ( $24 federal and $15 DPS). $729,000 Board of Nurse Examiners www.bne.state.tx.us 305-7400
Repeal tax exemption for companies insuring CHIP and Medicaid participants HB 2292 1.75 percent of gross receipts. $51,106,000 Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555
Pharmaceutical manufacturer rebates HB 2292 Adds supplemental state payments to existing federally mandated rebates paid by pharmaceutical manufacturers participating in state's Medicaid program. $53,300,000 Health and Human Services Commission www.hhsc.state.tx.us 424-6500
Fee on nurses HB 3126 $3 surcharge to registered nurse renewal fee and $2 surcharge to licensed vocational nurse renewal to fund a nursing resource section within the health professions resource center. $622,000 Board of Nurse Examiners www.bne.state.tx.us 305-7400
Increases fees for physicians SB 104 Increases the license, registration, and renewal fees that the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners may charge physicians, and establishes new surcharges for certain fees. Also moves to a biennial rather than annual renewal period. $36,095,000 Board of Medical Examiners www.tsbme.state.tx.us 305-7010
Fees on immigrant doctors SB 558 The Texas Department of Health may request waivers for certain visa requirements on immigrant doctors if the doctors agree to work in medically underserved areas. TDH may assess a fee on the doctors to recover costs; TDH anticipates fee of $2,000 per waiver. $120,000 Texas Department of Health www.tdh.state.tx.us 458-7111
Fees on surgical assistants SB 769 Surgical assistants renew their license every two years, rather than annually. No change in fee amount, but must pay for two years at once. $12,000 Board of Medical Examiners www.tsbme.state.tx.us 305-7010
Fees relating to the regulation of tattooists and body piercers SB 1317 Fees to be set by board; TDH anticipates (1) tattooist/body piercer fee at $40 per year. (2) training course approval fee at $300 per course. $258,000 Texas Department of Health www.tdh.state.tx.us 458-7111
Cost to part-time state employees for health care premiums SB 1370 Employees working fewer than 40 hours rather than fewer than 20 hours must pay half of their health care premium. $17,700,000 Employee Retirement System www.ers.state.tx.us 476-6431



Business and Professions
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Fee for custom brokers licenses HB 109 $300 annual fee for each place of business from which a customs broker intends to issue a certificate of export. $480,000 Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555
Fee for auctioneer school's curriculum HB 135 Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to set a fee. $42,000 Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation www.license.state.tx.us 463-6599
Fees on mold assessors and remediators HB 329 Texas Department of Health to set fees for licenses, registrations and examinations. Fees - Sampling technician $50/year, Assessment technician $300/year, Consultant assessment evaluation company $500/year, Remediation worker $50/year, Remediation supervisor $150/year, Remediation contractor $300/year, Remediation company $500/year, Testing laboratory $500/year. $817,000 Texas Department of Health www.tdh.state.tx.us 458-7111
Crematory establishments HB 587 Texas Funeral Service Commission anticipates a $400 initial application fee and a $450 annual renewal fee. $45,000 Texas Funeral Service Commission www.tfsc.state.tx.us 936-2474
Home builders and inspectors HB 730 Texas Residential Construction Commission to set fees for (1) builder registration original certificate not to exceed $500 and renewal not to exceed $300, (2) residential arbitrators original certificate not to exceed $100 and renewal not to exceed $50, (3) new home registration fee not to exceed $125 and late fee not to exceed $500, and (4) other fees will be assessed for third party inspectors and third party warranty companies. $3,351,000 The Texas Residential Construction Commission begins operations after September 1, 2003.
Administrative penalties for accountants HB 1218 Increase maximum administrative penalty on an accountant from $1000 to $100,000 per violation; new authority for the Accountants Board to impose administrative penalties of $25,000 for violations of cease and desist orders. $470,000 Texas State Board of Public Accountancy www.tsbpa.state.tx.us 305-7800
Fees on electricians and electrical contractors HB 1487 Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to set fees to cover administrative costs. $3,910,000 Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation www.license.state.tx.us 463-6599
Fees on real estate personnel HB 1508 Fees set by the commission; (1) Increases the maximum fee for a license history to $20 from $10. Commission anticipates increase of $10. (2) Creates fee for instructor and continuing education instructor, maximum $40. Commission anticipates $25 fee payable every 5 years. $39,000 Texas Real Estate Commission www.trec.state.tx.us 459-6544
Fees on private investigators HB 1769 Broadens the definition of who is required to obtain a private investigator license. $27,000 Texas Commission on Private Security www.tcps.state.tx.us 424-7710
Fees on securities dealers HB 1840 State Securities Board to set fees of (1) $100 for filing applications to sell or dispose of securities, (2) $100 for filing applications and renewals for dealer or investment advisor, and (3) $100 for filing applications and renewals for agent, officer, or investment adviser representative. $8,084,000 Texas State Securities Board www.ssb.state.tx.us 305-8300
Professional fee on landscape architects, interior designers, land surveyors and property tax consultants HB 3442 Increase of $200 per professional. $4,558,000 Texas State Board of Architectural Examiners, Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation www.tbae.state.tx.us
www.txls.state.tx.us
www.license.state.tx.us
305-9000, 452-9427, 463-6599
Fee paid by persons rebuilding salvage motor vehicles HB 3588 $65 per salvaged vehicle. $9,227,000 Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588
Fee on Public Adjusters SB 127 $50 for 2 years. $125,000 Texas Department of Insurance www.tdi.state.tx.us 463-6169
Fee on mortgage bankers SB 252 Texas Savings and Loan Commission to set fee not to exceed $500 a year. $794,000 Texas Savings and Loan Department www.tsld.state.tx.us 475-1350
Fees on court reporters SB 273 (1) Ties late fees to renewal fees rather than penalties, and (2) new fee for out-of-state renewals. Minimal impact Court Reporters Certification Board, Office of Court Administration www.crcb.state.tx.us
www.courts.state.tx.us
463-1630, 463-1625
Fees for flame effects operators SB 693 The commissioner of insurance sets the fees. (1) annual license fee not to exceed $100 a year. (2) exam fee not to exceed $30 (3) re-exam fee not to exceed $20. Minimal impact Texas Department of Insurance www.tdi.state.tx.us 463-6169
Surcharges on alcohol licensees SB 855 Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission must transfer $250,000 annually from its appropriation to the Texas Department of Agriculture for funding for Texas Wine Marketing Assistance Program. TABC is directed to increase its annual permit/license surcharge amounts to replace the funds transferred. $500,000 Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission www.tabc.state.tx.us 206-3333
Fees on appraisers of real property SB 1013 Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board to set fees (1) for filing a request to return to active status, (2) of up to $200 on individuals extending the time to complete continuing education, and (3) for appraisers on inactive status to pay renewal but not registry fees. Minimal impact Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board www.talcb.state.tx.us 465-3950
Fees on locksmiths and electronic security companies SB 1252 $300 fee remains unchanged, but number of registrants to increase. $3,181,000 Texas Commission on Private Security www.tcps.state.tx.us 424-7710
Fee on mortgage brokers SB 1667 $39 additional fee to new applicants. $796,000 Texas Savings and Loan Department www.tsld.state.tx.us 475-1350



Agriculture and Animals
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Commercial shrimping licenses HB 1858 Ten percent increase. $494,000 Texas Department of Agriculture www.agr.state.tx.us 463-7476
Freshwater fishing stamp HB 1989 $5 per year. $4,260,000 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department www.tpwd.state.tx.us 389-4800
Fowl operations HB 2328 $25 to $350 depending upon flock size. $344,000 Texas Animal Health Commission www.tahc.state.tx.us 719-0700
Cattle inspection fee HB 3442 50 cents per head at first point inspection. $1,000,000 Texas Animal Health Commission www.tahc.state.tx.us 719-0700



Automobiles and Boats
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Fees for tow truck registration, impound fee and insurance filing HB 849 Tow truck registration fees to increase to $25 from $10, with the impound fee increasing from $20 from $10, and an additional $100 insurance filing fee. $626,000 Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588
Surcharge on the purchase, rental or lease of certain diesel-powered trucks HB 1365 1% surcharge on sale or use of 1997 and newer diesel-powered trucks weighing over 14,000 lbs. $1,167,000 Texas Commission on Environmental Quality www.tceq.state.tx.us 239-1000
Surcharge on motor vehicle title transfers HB 1365 $20 for transfers in non-attainment areas and $15 for transfers in all other counties. $200,891,000 Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588
Repeal of "clear diesel" motor fuels tax exemptions HB 2458 Tax collection point moved to terminal rack, and repeals tax exemptions for "clear" diesel fuel. $35,069,000 Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555
Fee for boat manufacturers, distributors, and dealers HB 2926 $500 for two years. $299,000 Texas Parks and Wildlife www.tpwd.state.tx.us 389-4800
Financial responsibility fee for motor vehicle registrations HB 3588 $1 fee on each motor vehicle registration that requires proof of financial responsibility for issuance; sales by licensed dealers are not subject to the fee. $24,374,000 Texas Department of Public Safety www.txdps.state.tx.us 424-2000
Salvage title fee and non-repairable title fees HB 3588 Fees for these titles increased to $8 from $0, $3 or $2. $3,046,000 Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588



Courts and Attorneys
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Attorney fee to fund criminal defense and legal services to indigents HB 599 $65 per year paid to the State Bar of Texas. $6,000,000 State Bar of Texas www.texasbar.com 463-1463
Fee for bail bonds HB 1940 $15 per bail bond to fund longevity pay for assistant prosecutors. $4,755,000 Office of Court Administration www.courts.state.tx.us/oca/ 463-1625
Fee for court costs on traffic offenses HB 3588 $30 per traffic offense conviction. $271,170,000 Office of Court Administration www.courts.state.tx.us/oca/ 463-1625
Fee for court costs on intoxication offenses such as DWI SB 1131 $100 per DWI or other intoxication conviction. $7,800,000 Office of Court Administration www.courts.state.tx.us/oca/ 463-1625



Environmental Protection and Natural Resources
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Fee on grants from Council on Environmental Technology HB 43 Up to 5% fee on CET grants. $127,000 Texas Council on Environmental Technology www.tcet.state.tx.us 232-5225
Well and pipeline fees relating to filing Texas Railroad Commission organization report HB 942 $125 increase in well and pipeline fees. $170,000 Texas Railroad Commission www.rrc.state.tx.us 463-6710
Pipeline safety fee HB 1194 Texas Railroad Commission to set fee to cover cost of pipeline safety program. $3,272,000 Texas Railroad Commission www.rrc.state.tx.us 463-6710
Fees for reinstatement of severed oil and gas leases HB 1195 Reinstatement fee for a Producer's Transportation Authority and Certificate of Compliance increased from $100 to $300. $1,419,000 Texas Railroad Commission www.rrc.state.tx.us 463-6710
Surcharge on the purchase, rental or lease of diesel-powered equipment HB 1365 Surcharge for funding clean air programs to increase to 2% from 1%, and will be imposed on mining equipment. $46,106,000 Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555
Fees on dry cleaning facilities and dry cleaning solvents HB 1366 (1) $250 annual fee on dry cleaning facilities with less than $100,000 in receipts, pure drop stations or non-participated facilities. (2) $1,000 annual fee for dry cleaning drop stations. (3) $2,500 fee for facilities with more than $100,000 annual receipts. (4) $15 per gallon for perch dry cleaning solvents. (5) $5 per gallon for all other solvents. $14,829,000 Texas Commission on Environmental Quality www.tceq.state.tx.us 239-1000
Fee for an expedited letter related to drilling wells HB 3442 Texas Commission on Environmental Quality will set fee not to exceed $75 for an expedited letter related to drilling wells. To protect ground water and processing of certain Texas Railroad Commission permits. $450,000 Texas Commission on Environmental Quality www.tceq.state.tx.us 239-1000
Rail safety fee HB 3442 Texas Railroad Commission sets fee annually. $3,148,000 Texas Railroad Commission www.rrc.state.tx.us 463-6710
Cleanup fee on high-cost gas HB 3442 1/5 of 1 cent per mcf. $1,625,000 Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555



Other Charges
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Fee for export stamps HB 109 Fee on stamps for export certification increased to $1.60 from 5 cents. $8,000,000 Comptroller of Public Accounts www.window.state.tx.us 800-252-5555
Fees on candidates filing for public office HB 1695 Fees increase 25 percent for all candidates, except for SBOE (20 percent increase) and county surveyor (50 percent increase). $855,000 Secretary of State www.sos.state.tx.us 463-5701
Fee for filing of certified copies of instruments relating to water rights HB 2250 Rio Grande Water Master to set fee. $256,000 Texas Commission on Environmental Quality www.tceq.state.tx.us 239-1000
Fees for parking in state garages after hours HB 3042 $5 per parking space. Texas Building and Procurement Commission required to enter into leases with commercial parking lot vendors. $1,456,000 Texas Building and Procurement Commission www.tbpc.state.tx.us 463-6363
Assessment on phone and telecommunication services HB 3459 Extends the life of the current rate of 1.25 percent on certain telecommunications receipts. $250,000,000 Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund Board until 8/31/2003; Texas Workforce Commission effective 9/1/2003 www.tifb.state.tx.us
www.twc.state.tx.us
TIF Board: 475-5300
Workforce Comm.: 463-2222
Fee for online license renewals SB 1152 The TexasOnline Authority is authorized to include additional licensing agencies in its online license renewal project, providing additional fees to license holders and facilities. $295,000 Department of Information Resources www.dir.state.tx.us 475-4700



Fiscal Impact Cannot Be Estimated at this Time on the Following New Laws
Fees, Charges, or Expenses Bill How New Charge is Imposed Fiscal Impact: Two-Year Amount Contact Agency Agency Web Link Telephone (Area Code 512)
Fee on non-resident attorneys to fund legal services to the indigent HB 462 $250 for each case in which a non-resident attorney requests to participate. Cannot Be Estimated Board of Law Examiners www.ble.state.tx.us 463-8929
Fees on fire-prevention professionals HB 472 (1) For fire alarm detection: increases the maximum initial license fee to $120 from $100. (2) For fire extinguishers: increases the maximum initial license fee to $70 from $50. (3) For fireworks: increases the maximum exam fee to $50 from $30. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Department of Insurance www.tdi.state.tx.us 463-6169
Fee for architects' emeritus status HB 1536 Texas State Board of Architectural Examiners to set fee to obtain and remove emeritus status Cannot Be Estimated Texas State Board of Architectural Examiners www.tbae.state.tx.us 305-9000
Increases registration fees for lobbyists and late filing penalties for lobby and campaign reports HB 1606 Late filing fee for candidates, office holders, committees and lobbyists goes from $100 to $500, and lobby registrations increase by $200. Cannot Be Estimated Ethics Commission www.ethics.state.tx.us 463-5800
Standardized fee for specialized license plates HB 2971 $30 for most specialized plates, of which $8 will be allocated to Highway Fund for TxDOT administration, and $22 to the sponsoring organization. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588
Driver Responsibility Program surcharges for drivers HB 3588 Points are assigned to drivers convicted of traffic offenses. A sliding scale of surcharges range from $100 for the first 6 points to $2,000 for a DWI conviction. Points are determined annually for the previous 3-year period. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Department of Public Safety www.txdps.state.tx.us 424-2000
Fee for licensing a chiropractic facility SB 211 Establishes a cap on the fee that owners of chiropractic facilities must pay to $75. The Board of Chiropractic Examiners has no plans to increase the current fee of $40. Cannot Be Estimated Board of Chiropractic Examiners www.tbce.state.tx.us 305-6700
Voluntary fee for priority boarding on the Galveston-Port Bolivar ferry SB 249 Fee amount to be established by TxDOT. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Department of Transportation www.dot.state.tx.us 463-8588
Fees on land surveyors SB 260 Removes statutory caps on fees, ties late fees to renewal fees rather than exam fees, and creates a fee for out-of-state renewals. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying www.txls.state.tx.us 452-9427
Fee for a certificate of registration for dental assistants SB 263 Fee levels for the annual certificate have not yet been set by the State Board of Dental Examiners; they will begin September 1, 2004. Cannot Be Estimated Board of Dental Examiners www.tsbde.state.tx.us 463-6400
Fees on professional engineers SB 277 Texas Board of Professional Engineers to set fees to recover costs. The bill (1) removes fee caps set in statute, (2) creates an inactive status and exempts those on inactive status from $200 professional fee, (3) allows the board to create a provisional license fee, and (4) ties late fees to license fees rather than penalties. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Board of Registration for Professional Engineers www.tbpe.state.tx.us 440-7723
Plumbers' fees SB 282 Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners can set new fees for a review course and materials, provisional licenses, and out-of-state renewals and can increase late fees. Cannot Be Estimated Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners www.tsbpe.state.tx.us 458-2145
Fees on architects, landscape architects and interior designers SB 283 (1) Increases the late renewal fees (2) establishes fee for out-of-state renewals at twice the annual fee (3) exempts interior designers and landscape architects on active military duty from paying fees (4) applies inactive status fee to interior designers and landscape architects and (5) allows the board to charge a fee for processing electronic payments or to cover administrative costs of board actions Cannot Be Estimated Texas State Board of Architectural Examiners www.tbae.state.tx.us 305-9000
Vehicle emissions inspection fee within Austin and/or San Antonio MSAs SB 1159 $2.50 per vehicle emissions inspection fee if approved by a county and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Commission on Environmental Quality www.tceq.state.tx.us 239-1000
Tuition at state colleges and universities HB 3015 Removed limit on designated tuition set by university governing boards. Cannot Be Estimated Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board www.thecb.state.tx.us 427-6101



Total Impact:   $2,679,717,000
*
 

* Does not include costs for new legislation where fiscal impact cannot be estimated at this time.
 



SOURCES: Texas Comptroller, Legislative Budget Board, and other state agencies.