2012 August Sales Tax Holiday
You may listen or download this story in .mp3 format.
CPA Broadcast Services August Sales Tax Holiday Podcast
INTRO by Leticia Torres:
Welcome to this Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Podcast, produced by the Communications Division. I’m Leticia Torres.
Our topic today is the 2012 August Sales Tax Holiday.
Our interview is with R.J. DeSilva, spokesman for the Texas Comptroller’s office.
Welcome. Let’s begin with the exact date of this year’s sales tax holiday.
This year Texas shoppers get a break from state and local sales taxes on Aug. 17, 18 and 19. So during those three days, shoppers don’t have to pay sales tax on most footwear, clothing and school supplies that cost less than $100.
What types of items will be tax exempt?
Tax-free items include school supplies like binders, backpacks, notebooks, pens, pencils and calculators.
Clothing including shirts, pants, jackets, shoes, socks and a long list of other items are also sales tax exempt during that weekend as long as each item is priced less than $100. I really encourage families to go to the Comptroller’s website for a complete list. That website is www.texastaxholiday.org.
So R.J. do all sellers in Texas have to participate in the August sales tax holiday?
Yes, stores in Texas that sell these items from clothing to school supplies have to comply with the law and not charge sales tax during the three-day sales tax holiday.
Well how much can Texans save during this tax free weekend?
Our annual sales tax holiday started in 1999 so this is the state's fourteenth tax-free weekend. It's expected to save Texans close to $64.8 million in state and local sales tax this year. For each $100 spent, customers can save about $8.
Thank you R.J. This year’s Sales Tax Holiday is Aug. 17, 18 and 19. For those interested in more details on today’s topic, please visit www.texastaxholiday.org. On behalf of the Texas Comptroller’s Office, I’m Leticia Torres.