Texas Claim for Refund of Motor Vehicle Tax, |b- [ ’ e T o owoa T sz |
Diesel Motor Vehicle Surcharge and/or
Commercial Vehicle Registration Surcharge

* Before submitting, see instructions on back.
a. Tcode H 58900 g

c. Claimant’s number (See instructions.) d. Motor vehicle identification number shown on Tax Collector’s receipt
e. Claimant’'s name and mailing address
f. Blacken this box if your |:| FM
address has changed..............cccccu...... m1
g. FOR COMPTROLLER USE ONLY ACID
|:| INV SP SS
Email address m2 m3 m4
A tax receipt and signed buyer’s order or - -
purchase invoice must be submitted with h. ga’t( receipt  month  day year I F(leasorécode Lor Ir'eIund FOR COMPTROLLER USE ONLY
all claims for refund. Please allow 6-8 weeks | g ate | | | .CI:'IT {re‘?’.‘;& -
for processing. . . . structions.) L
k. County Tax Collector’s tax receipt number |. Document number from title application receipt m. PM
. ] o R

Section | - Motor Vehicle Tax and/or Diesel Motor Vehicle Surcharge

n. Cm 14 o[ lm17
Motor Vehicle Tax Diesel MV Surcharge
Column A Column B
1. Amount of motor vehicle tax / penalty paid to Texas in Column A and
Diesel Motor Vehicle Surcharge, if applicable, in Column B...........cccooiiniiiinnnn. 1a.m 1b.m
2. MOtor VENICIE SAIES PFICE ....c..eiiiiiiiii it 2a.1 2b.m
3. Trade-in and/or reDALe .........c..ooiiiiiii s 3a.m 3b.m
4. Taxable value (Iltem 2a minus Item 3a) ...........cccccoooiiieiiiiiiiceeeee e 4a.m 4b.m
5a. Motor vehicle tax due (See inStructions.) ............ccccceveeiiivciiiniciiece e 5a.m
5b. Diesel motor vehicle surcharge due (For model years prior to 1997, multiply Iltem 1b by 2.5%.
For model years 1997 and after, multiply Item 1D DY 19%6.) ...oovueiiiiiiiiii e 5b.m
6. Tax paid to another State ...........ccoocuiiiiii e 6a.m
7. Amount of tax due (ltem 5a minus Iltem 6a) or surcharge due ...............ccccceeneneee. 7a. 7b.
8. Amount of penalty if due (See instructions, Item i, Reason Code I.) ..................... 8a. 8b.
9. Total amount due (ltem 7a plus Item 8a, and ltem 7b plus ltem 8b) ..................... 9a.m 9b.m
10. Amount of refund requested (ltem 1a minus ltem 9a and Item 1b minus ltem 9b).. 10a.® 10b.m
11. TOTAL REFUND FOR SECTION | - (ltem 10a plus Item 10D) .........cocieiiiiiiiiieieeeee e 11.

Section Il - Commercial Vehicle Registration Surcharge

p. Om 21
12. Amount of commercial vehicle registration surcharge refund requested
(See instructions, Reason Codes R, S, T, @Nd U.) .......ooouueii ittt e e e e aee e e e e snaeeeens 12.m
Complete the claim and send to: AFFIDAVIT: | declare that the information in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.
Comptroller of Public Accounts . Purchaser
111 E. 17th St. sign
Austin, TX 78774-0100 here
Business phone / Daytime phone
or refund.request@cpa.texas.gov (Area code and number)
. Seller
If you have any questions about this claim, sign
contact your local Comptroller field office here
or call 1-800-252-1382. Business phone / Daytime phone
(Area code and number)




Form 14-202 (Back)(Rev.4-19/20)

Instructions for Filing Texas Claim for Refund of Motor Vehicle Tax,
Diesel Motor Vehicle Surcharge and/or Commercial Vehicle Registration Surcharge

Under Ch. 559, Government Code, you are entitled to review, request and correct information we have on file about you, with limited exceptions in accordance with
Ch. 552, Government Code. To request information for review or to request error correction, contact us at the address or phone number listed on this form.

Instructions for Refund Requests

Who Can File - The person that paid the tax qualifies to request a refund claim of motor vehicle sales or use tax paid on motor vehicles according to Comptroller’s Rule 3.75, Refunds,

Payments Under Protest, Payment Instruments and Dishonored Payments.

When to File - Claims for refund of Motor Vehicle Tax must be postmarked within four years of the date tax was due. Tax is due on the 30th calendar day after the day the vehicle is

delivered to the purchaser or brought into Texas for use.

Documentation Required for All Refund Requests (Send a copy of each of the following.):

1. Title Application Receipt issued by the Tax Assessor-Collector (TAC).
2. Web Dealer Final Tax Receipt with barcode and document number.

3. Signed buyer’s order or purchase invoice.

4. Documentation required under the specific refund reasons listed below.
5. Additional documentation can be requested.

Specific Instructions

Items b, g, j & m - Leave blank (For Comptroller Use Only).

Item c - Enter the 11-digit taxpayer number assigned by the Comptroller’s office. If you

do not have a number previously assigned by the state, use the following:

* Social Security number* if you are an individual recipient or sole owner of a
business.

 Federal employer identification number if set up as a corporation, partnership or other
entity.

+ Ag/timber number, if qualified.

*Disclosure of your Social Security number (SSN) is required and authorized under 42
U.S.C. Sec. 405(c)(2)(C)(i) and Tex. Govt. Code. Secs. 403.011.403.015, and 403.176.
The number will be used for tax administration and identification of any individual affected
by the law. The number may also be used to assist in the administration of laws relating
to child support enforcement and the identification of individuals who may be indebted
to or owe delinquent taxes to this state. Release of information on this form in response
to a public information request will be governed by the Public Information Act, Chapter 552,
Government Code.

Item d - Enter the vehicle identification number indicated on the Tax Assessor-Collector’s
Receipt for Vehicle Tax.

Items h, k & | - Enter the number shown at the top left of the long form Tax Collector’s
Receipt (Item I) or top right of the short form Tax Collector’s Receipt. Enter the date
shown on either the long form or short form TAC receipts.

Item i - Select the refund reason code from the list below that best describes the reason
for your refund request.

A - Failure of Sale (“unwound deal’): claimant must show proof the sale was never

completed, and ALL money has been returned to the purchaser. Proof may be shown by

sending copies of refund checks issued to purchaser (front/back) or lien holder (LH) payoff

(front/back) or LH letter stating no payments received and/or deal never funded.

B - Tax Collector Correction: claimant must provide a statement (on letterhead) issued

from the TAC, confirming/explaining why tax should be refunded.

C - Sales or Use Tax Paid In Error: if the claimant paid sales or use tax when the New

Resident Use Tax, Gift Tax or Even Trade Tax was due.

» New Residents: must show proof the vehicle was registered previously in the new
resident’s name in other state or foreign country (e.g., copy of Texas motor vehicle
inspection report).

« Gift: recipient or donor must submit, in person at a Comptroller field office, a notorized
Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer.

» Even Trade Tax: see Reason Code B, Tax Collector Correction.

D - Stolen Vehicle: claimant must include a copy of the police report showing it was

reported stolen prior to purchase.

E - Tax Paid on Incorrect Sales Price or Taxable Value: if the claimant paid sales

or use tax on the incorrect sales price or tax should have been calculated based on

Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) or Certified Apprised Value:

* Incorrect Sales Price: claimant must send a copy of the original bill of sale, signed
by both seller and purchaser.

* SPV: if the TAC calculated tax based on the incorrect SPV, see Reason Code B, Tax
Collector Correction.

« Certified Apprised Value: claimant must provide Form 14-128, Used Motor Vehicle
Certified Appraisal Form. Appraisal must be obtained within 30 calendar days of
purchase. (See instructions on Form 14-128.)

F - Credit Not Given For Tax Paid Out of State: claimant must show proof tax was paid

to another state (e.g., out-of-state tax receipt, out-of-state buyer’s order).

G - Vehicle assigned / transferred in error: include incorrect/correct tax receipts and

incorrect/correct purchaser signed bills of sale.

H - Tax Paid On An Exempt Vehicle: tax was paid, but vehicle qualified (at time of

purchase) for one of the following exemptions as provided by Tax Code Chapter 152:

* Church or Religious Society: claimant must show proof they purchased a vehicle
designed to carry more than six passengers and provide a signed statement describing
how the vehicle will be used primarily (at least 80% of the time) to provide transporta-
tion to and from church or religious services or meetings.

» Foreign NATO Military Personnel: claimant must provide a copy of military NATO
travel orders, NATO VISA and a copy of Foreign NATO miilitary ID.

* Farm/Timber Use: claimant must provide a statement from the farmer, rancher or
timber operator describing the operation and how the vehicle will be used primarily (at
least 80% of the time) for an exempt use. The statement must include the ag/timber
number and expiration date. Form 14-319 can be used in lieu of the statement.

* Vehicle Taken Out Of State: claimant must send a copy of bill of lading from the steam
liner, copy of motor vehicle transport carrier bill of lading and copy of completed Form
14-312, Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate, presented to dealer. If the
vehicle was registered in Texas claimant must prove vehicle was not used in Texas.

* Vehicle Sold or Leased To A Public Agency: claimant must show the vehicle was
sold or leased to a federal organization; or a state agency or volunteer fire department
and the vehicle is operated with exempt plates.

| - Refund of Tax Penalty Paid: claimant must send a written explanation for the refund

request for penalty paid and documentation, if available, to support refund request.

J - Interstate Use (IRP) Exemption: claimant must send copies of cab card(s) that proves

the unit was operated continuously for 12 months for interstate use from the date of sale
in Texas or the date first brought into Texas for use on Texas roads.

K - Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption: vehicle must be operated 80% of time

by an orthopedically handicapped driver or used 80% of the operating time to transport

an orthopedically handicapped person. Claimant must submit Form 14-318, Texas Motor

Vehicle Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption Certificate, signed by a physician on or

before the sale date, and the following documentation:

« For Driver Exemption: copy of a Texas driver license issued to the qualified orthope-

dically handicapped person(s) on or before the sale date, recording restriction codes

U, V or Z; copy of medical documentation/statement signed by a practitioner of the

healing arts describing driver’s orthopedic handicap and date orthopedic handicap

occurred; and documentation (e.g., modification invoice), that the vehicle has been
modified by altering acceleration, steering or braking systems.

For Transportation Exemption: copy of medical documentation/statement signed by

a practitioner of the healing arts describing passenger’s orthopedic handicap and date

orthopedic handicap occurred; and documentation (e.g., modification invoice) that the

vehicle has been modified by installing a wheelchair lift, hoist, raised roof, attached
ramp, wheelchair hold-down clamps or special seat restraints other than conventional
seat belts to allow for the transportation of an orthopedically handicapped person in

a reasonable manner.

M - Lemon Law: claimant must send a copy of the cancellation worksheet, settlement

agreement, refund check, lien holder payoff check and assignment of right to refund if

claimant is not the original purchaser.

N - Child Care Facilities Exemption: claimant must send a copy of license issued by

the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services for 24-hour residential care

for children with emotional disorders who do not require specialized services or treatment
and are permitted to live in a single residential group.

O - Off-Road Vehicles: claimant must provide an MCO showing the vehicle is designed

for off-road use only.

P - Fair Market Value Deduction (FMVD): claimant must send a copy of the title history

obtained from www.TXDMV.gov for each vehicle being claimed as a tax credit/FMVD,

lessee signed lease agreement, and FMV tax credit certificate.

Q - Other: claimant must provide a signed statement detailing the reason for the refund

request and documentation, if any, to support refund claim.

Item 5 - Column A - Multiply the amount in Item 4 by the tax rate of 0.0625.
For Reason Codes A, D, G, H, J, K or M, enter zero.

Item 8 - Enter penalty shown on the tax collector receipt.

Item 11 - Refer to Commercial Vehicles and Truck Tractor registration surcharge refund
Reason Codes R, S, T and U.

Instructions for Section Il

R - IRP Registration Refunds: claimant must include a copy of the cab card and a
copy of the IRP Refund Detail Sheet provided by Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
(TxDMV).

S - Combination Registration Refunds: claimant must include a copy of a validated
Registration Renewal Receipt and the Registration Fee Refund Request/Authorization
Form, VTR-304, provided by TxXDMV.

T - Forestry Registration Refunds: claimant must include a copy of the cab card and
a copy of the Forestry IRP Refund Supplement Sheet provided by TxDMV.

U - IRP Audits: claimant must include a copy of the IRP Billing Notice validated by
TxDMV.


http:www.TXDMV.gov
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