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b.
b

a. 36180

You have certain rights under Chapters 552 and 559, Government Code, to
review, request and correct information we have on file about you. Contact us

at the address or phone number listed on this form. 

b

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
CRUDE OIL Tax -- PURCHASER Report Page 1 of ______X--X

c. Taxpayer number d. Due date e. Filing period f. h.     FM i.
b b

X-------------X X--------X X--X
X------X

Taxpayer name and mailing addressb b

g.
*123456 89*

X------------------------------------------------X

X------------------------------------------------X

X--------------------------------------X

X------------------X  XX  X--------X

Blacken this box if your address has changed. 
Show changes by the preprinted information.

1

b

FINAL REPORT - Blacken this box if you are 
no longer in business 
and enter the last 
business date

2

b

j.
If you have nothing to report for ALL leases for this filing period, blacken 

this box, sign and date this report, and return it to the Comptroller's office.

X-------------------X

H

STATEWIDE DATA (Crude oil unidentifiable as to producer, lease, scrubber, salt water disposal, etc.)

  1. Statewide barrels 
(See instructions. Enter whole barrels.)  1.

b

  2. Net taxable value of designated "statewide" purchases 
(See instructions. Enter dollars and cents.)

$
 2.
b

SUMMARY DATA  (See Instructions)

  3. Taxable barrels from lease detail supplements
(Total from Item 16 on all attached Lease Detail Supplements, Form 10-160. Enter whole barrels.)  3.

b

  4. Net taxable value from lease detail supplements 
(Total from Item 20 on all attached Lease Detail Supplements, Form 10-160. Enter dollars and cents.)

$
 4.
b

  5. Total taxable barrels
(Add Item 1 and Item 3. Enter whole barrels.)  5.

b

  6. Total net taxable value
(Add Item 2 and Item 4. Enter dollars and cents.)

$
 6.
b

  7. Regulatory fee assessment 
(Multiply Item 5 x  . See instructions. Enter dollars and cents.)

$
X.XXXXXX  7.

b

  8. Tax due 
(Multiply Item 6 x  . Enter dollars and cents.)

$
X.XXXXXX  8.

b

$
  9. Tax due on leases with exemptions (Type 05 and/ or Type 14)
      (Total of Item 22 from Lease Detail Supplement, Form 10-160. Enter dollars and cents.)

 9.
b

10-156
(Rev.7-18/8)

* * * DO NOT DETACH * * *

$11. Overpayment  (Credit Transfer Form for Crude Oil Tax, Form 10-141, must be included.)  11.

$12. Net amount due (Item 10 minus Item 11)  12.

$13. Penalty & Interest (If tax is paid after the due date, see instructions.)    13.

$
14. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE (Item 12 plus Item 13)  14.

b

Taxpayer name
l.

X------------------------------------------------X

T Code Taxpayer number  Period
b b

b

X---X X---------X X--X  X Make the amount in Item 14 payable to State Comptroller

Mail toI declare that the information in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
Comptroller of Public Accounts
P.O. Box 149358
Austin, TX  78714-9358

Print name Business phone (Area code and number)

AB

Taxpayer or duly authorized agent Date
m.

b

 777

1015 00R071808

$
  10. Total tax and fee due (Add Items 7, 8 and 9. Enter dollars and cents.)  10.

b

Instructions for Completing
Texas Crude Oil Tax Purchaser Report (Form 10-156)

File this report with the Crude Oil Tax - Purchaser Lease Detail Supplement (Form 10-160) 
For assistance, call 800-252-1384. Forms, administrative rules, and additional information are available 

online at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil/.

10-328-4
(Rev.9-19/2)

Item 11. File a "Credit Transfer Form for Crude Oil Tax" (Form 10-141) to transfer an outstanding credit amount from different 
report period(s) to this report period for the purpose of offsetting the tax and fee due.

Item 12. Enter the sum of the “Total tax and fee due” reported in Item 10 and the “Overpayment” reported in Item 11.

Item 13. If the “Net amount due” in Item 12 is a tax due balance, enter the penalty and interest on the amount reported in 
Item 12. 

•  If payment is 1-30 days late after the due date, a 5% penalty is assessed on the tax due balance.
•  If a tax due balance remains after 31 days after the due date, an additional 5% penalty is assessed on the tax due
  balance.

• Interest begins to accrue on the 61st day after the due date
•  The interest rate varies annually.
•  For current rate information, call our office at 877-447-2834 or visit our website at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/
  file-pay/interest.php.

Item 14. Enter the sum of the “Net amount due” reported in Item 12 and the “Penalty & Interest” reported in Item 13.

Item 7. Enter the “Regulatory fee
assessment.”
•For report periods beginning with the
September 2015 period and later, multiply
the “Total taxable barrels” reported in Item 
5 by the Regulatory Oil Field Clean-up Fee
of $0.00625.

•For report periods prior to the September
2015 period, multiply the “Total taxable
barrels” reported in Item 5 by the
Regulatory Oil Field Clean-up Fee of
$0.008125.  This fee is the combined total
of the Oil Field Clean-up Fee of $0.00625
and the Regulatory Tax of $0.001875 per
barrel.  Enter dollars and cents.

Item 8. Enter the “Tax due” by multiplying
the “Total net taxable value” reported in Item
6 by the tax rate of $0.046 (4.6%).  Enter
dollars and cents.

Item 9. Enter the sum of all “Tax Due"
amounts for Exempt Types “05” and “14”
that are reported in Line 22 in the "Purchaser
Lease Detail Supplement(s)",
Form10-160.  Enter dollars and cents.

Item 10. Enter the sum of the values 
reported as “Regulatory fee assessment” 
in Item 7, plus the “Tax due” reported in 
Item 8, plus the “Tax due on leases with 
exemptions” reported in Item 9.  Enter 
dollars and cents.

Item 1. Enter the total taxable barrels that are 
unidentifiable and do not correspond to a specific 
producer and/or lease.  Examples of unidentifiable oil are 
skim oil, tank bottoms, or reclaimed oil as described in 
Administrative Rule 3.33.  Round all barrels to the next 
whole number

Item 2. Enter the total net taxable value of the barrels
reported in Item 1.  Enter dollars and cents.

Item 3. Enter the sum of all taxable barrels
reported in Item 16 from all the Lease Detail
Supplement(s), Form 10-160.  Enter as
whole barrels.

Item 4. Enter the sum of all net taxable
values reported in Item 20 from the Lease
Detail Supplement(s), Form 10-160.  Do not
include values for Exempt Types “05” and
“14.”  Enter dollars and cents.

Item 5. Enter the sum of the “Statewide
barrels” reported in Item 1 and the “Taxable
barrels from lease detail supplements”
reported in Item 3.  Enter whole barrels.

Item 6. Enter the sum of the “Net taxable
value of designated ‘statewide’ purchases”
reported in Item 2 and the “Taxable barrels
from lease detail supplements” reported in
Item 4.  Enter dollars and cents.  

 

 

 

 
 
 

 
 

  

 

 

 

  

 

 
  

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 

Specific instructions 
for completing forms: 10-156 

10-160 

Instructions for Completing 
Texas Crude Oil Tax - Purchaser Report (Form 10-156) 

File this report with the 
Purchaser Lease Detail Supplement (Form 10-160) 

G L E N N  H E G A R  T E X A S  C O M P T R O L L E R  O F  P U B L I C  A C C O U N T S  

For assistance, call 800-252-1384. Forms, administrative rules, and additional information are available 
online at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil/. 

Who Must File – First purchasers of crude oil must file a monthly crude oil tax report for purchases of crude oil 
made even if there are no purchases for the month. If you are no longer an active purchaser, blacken the box 
labeled “FINAL REPORT” and enter the inactive date. 

When To File – File this report on or before the 25th day of each month. This report must include volumes and 
values of crude oil purchases made from the previous production month. (Example: Purchases made during the 
month of July must be reported by August 25th.) If the due date of a report period falls on a Saturday, Sunday or 
legal holiday, the next business day is the due date. 

General Information 

• Texas first purchasers of crude oil must report all transactions even though another party may 
have assumed the tax liability of a lease or well. First purchasers must pay the tax due on all 
oil purchased from operators or producers when delivery of oil is made on the lease, unless the 
Comptroller has given another party written authorization to pay the tax. 

• First purchasers may not take a delivery of crude oil from an operator or producer unless the 
operator or producer furnishes the purchaser an 11-digit taxpayer identification number assigned by 
the Comptroller. 

• Do not change any preprinted data. If the data is not correct, enter the correct lease information in 
the subsequent blank lines. Preprinted block not used are deleted from your preprinted reports after 
four consecutive months. 

• Do not report corrections to previous report periods on this report. File the “Amended Crude Oil 
Tax – Purchaser Report” (Forms 10-166 and 10-170) to correct previously reported data or to report 
items omitted from your original purchaser report. 

• Round all barrels in each reported item to the next whole number. 
• Two decimals are required on all dollar values.  Enter dollars and cents. 
• Provide your 11-digit taxpayer number when corresponding with our office. 

Form 10-328-1 (Rev.9-19/2) 
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CD

10-160
(Rev.7-18/7) BBBB

b.
b

a. 36100 X--X X--XPage ______ of ______
b

See instructions on back.

I

c. Taxpayer number d. Filing period
Texas CRUDE OIL Tax 

-- PURCHASER Lease Detail Supplement --

X-------------X X--------------X

b

f.e. Taxpayer name

X------------------------------------------------XX------------------------------------------------X

HP
X-------------------X   X-X   X-X

1. Lease name (as recorded with the Railroad Commission) 1. Lease name (as recorded with the Railroad Commission)
X-------------------------------------------X X-------------------------------------------X

2. County of production 2. County of production
X------------------X X------------------X

3. Producer's name 3. Producer's name

X-------------------------------------------X X-------------------------------------------X

X-X

4. County code
b

Check
digitX----X X

5. Lease number
b

YES
1

NO
2X X

 6. Is Item 5 a drilling permit number?
b

XX

7. Exempt types
(If applicable)

b

X-X X---X

 8. API number (If applicable)
b

Baseline
1

Incremental
210. Incremental exemption

(If applicable)
X X

b

11. Producer's 
      taxpayer number X---------X

b

YES
1

NO
212. Are you liable for tax?

b

If "NO" in Item 12, complete only Items 13, 14 and 17 below.

13. API gravity
b

14. Gross barrels
(Enter whole barrels)

b

15. Governmental
      royalty barrels

(Enter whole barrels)
b

16. Taxable barrels
(Enter whole barrels)

b

$17. Gross value
(Dollars and cents)

b

18. Governmental 
      royalty value

(Dollars and cents)
$
b

$19. Trucking costs
(Dollars and cents)

b

$20. Net taxable value
(Dollars and cents)

b

*1 16   R 718 7*

XXXX

7b. 7c.7a.

X---X

 9. Project number
(If applicable) b

X-XX

Items 21 and 22 for Exemption Type 05 and 14 only.

21. Reduced tax rate for Type 05 and 14
b

22. Tax due on
      Type 05 and 14

b

$

X-X

4. County code
b

Check
digitX----X X

5. Lease number
b

YES
1

NO
2X X

 6. Is Item 5 a drilling permit number?
b

XX

7. Exempt types
(If applicable)

b

X-X X---X

 8. API number (If applicable)
b

Baseline
1

Incremental
210. Incremental exemption

(If applicable)
X X

b

11. Producer's 
      taxpayer number X---------X

b

YES
1

NO
212. Are you liable for tax?

b

If "NO" in Item 12, complete only Items 13, 14 and 17 below.

13. API gravity
b

14. Gross barrels
(Enter whole barrels)

b

15. Governmental
      royalty barrels

(Enter whole barrels)
b

16. Taxable barrels
(Enter whole barrels)

b

$17. Gross value
(Dollars and cents)

b

18. Governmental 
      royalty value

(Dollars and cents)
$
b

$19. Trucking costs
(Dollars and cents)

b

$20. Net taxable value
(Dollars and cents)

b

XXXX

7b. 7c.7a.

X---X

b

X-XX

Items 21 and 22 for Exemption Type 05 and 14 only.

21. Reduced tax rate for Type 05 and 14
b

22. Tax due on
      Type 05 and 14

b

$

XXXXXX

 9. Project number
(If applicable)

10-328-2
(Rev.9-19/2)

Item 1. Enter the lease name reported to the Texas Railroad Commission (RRC).

Item 2. Enter the name of the county of production for the lease reported in Items 1 and 5.

Item 3. Enter the name of the producer from whom you purchased crude oil for the lease reported in 
Items 1 and 5.

Item 13. 
• Enter the API gravity for the reported lease in Items 1 and 5.  
• Enter the numeric figure to the tenth degree (xx.x).

Item 14.
• The first purchaser must report the gross volume of oil purchased from an 
operator or producer.  
• Round all reported barrels to the next whole number.

Item 15.
• Enter the volume of oil not subject to tax because of a governmental exempt 
status, such as a state-owned royalty.  
• Round all reported barrels to the next whole number.
• Do not include the barrels related to any legislative tax incentive reported in 
Item 7.  
• Rule 3.34, titled “Exemption of Certain Royalty Interests from Oil Occupation 
taxes and Regulation Pipeline Taxes” is available online at comptroller.texas.
gov/taxes/crude-oil/.  Select the link titled, “Rules.”  

Item 22 . Multiply the Net Taxable Value in Item 20 by the following:
• the reduced tax rate for the enhanced oil recovery project (Exempt Type 05) as 
shown in Item 21 and enter the calculated tax due amount in Line 22; or 
• the enhanced oil recovery rate using anthropogenic carbon dioxide rate 
(Exempt Type 14) as shown in Item 21 and enter the calculated tax due amount 
in Line 22.

Item 19. Enter any physical trucking charges incurred by the producer reported in 
Items 3 and 11.  Enter dollar and cents.

Item 20. Enter the total of Item 17 minus Item18 minus Item 19 in Item 20.  
Enter dollar and cents.

Item 21. Enter the reduced tax rate only for:
• Enhanced Oil Recovery projects (Exempt Types 05) or
• Enhanced Oil Recovery projects using anthropogenic carbon dioxide 
(Exempt Type 14)

Item 4. Enter the 3-digit county code assigned by the Comptroller’s office 
for the county of production for the lease reported in Items 1 and 5.  
A list of the county codes is available online at comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/
resources/county-codes.php.

Item 5. 
• Enter the 5-digit lease number assigned by RRC and add a  leading zero. 
• Enter the check digit. The lease number check digit is available at
 https://mycpa.cpa.state.tx.us/cong/checkDigitForward.do
• If RRC has not assigned a lease number, report the drilling permit 
number.

Item 6.
• Select “Yes” if the number reported in Item 5 is a drilling permit number.  
• Select “No” if the number reported in Item 5 is an RRC lease  number.

Item 7. Separately enter the applicable “Exempt Type” code (shown 
below) for each lease number to report an approved legislative tax 
incentive.   

Item 7a, 7b, 7c.
• Enter the “Exempt Type” code in Item 7a to report one “Exempt Type.”
• Enter each “Exempt Type” code separately in Items 7a, 7b, and 7c and 
report more than one “Exempt Type.”

Exempt Type Code

03 = Two-Year Inactive Well, effective Sept. 1, 1997
05 = Enhanced Oil Recovery Projects, approved after Aug. 31, 1997
11 = Qualifying Low-Producing Lease, effective Sept. 1, 2005
14 = Enhanced Recovery Project Using Anthropogenic Carbon Dioxide, 

 effective Sept. 1, 2007
15 = Geothermal Energy, effective Sept. 1, 2009
16 = Two-Year Inactive Well, effective Sept. 1, 2019

Item 8. Enter the last 8 digits of the American Petroleum Institute 
(API) number assigned to a well previously approved as a two-year 
inactive well (Exempt Type 03 and Type 16). This must be entered or 
the exemption will be disallowed.

Item 9. 
• Enter the project number assigned by RRC for an approved 
enhanced oil recovery project (Exempt Type 05) and enhanced oil 
recovery projects using anthropogenic carbon dioxide (Exempt Type 
14).
• Enter the project number beginning with an alphabetic character 
followed by 5 (and up to 8) numbers. 
•Omission of the project number causes the disallowance of the tax 
exemption for “Exempt Types” 05 and 14.

Item 12. 
• Select “YES” or “NO” for all reported leases 
even if you do not owe any tax.  
• If “YES” is selected (responsible for tax 
remittance), complete all remaining items.  
• If “NO” is selected (not responsible for tax 
remittance), complete Items 13, 14, and 17 
only.

Item 10.
• For expanded enhanced oil recovery projects, if applicable, report 
the portion applicable to “Incremental” and “Baseline” in two separate 
transactions.  
• Mark the “Incremental” block to report the incremental portion in one 
transaction and enter the applicable volumes and values in Item 11 
through Item 22.
• Mark the “Baseline” block to report the baseline portion in another 
transaction and enter the applicable volumes and values in Items 11 
through Item 22.  
*NOTE: The net taxable value (Item 20) for the baseline portion is not 
exempt. Item 11. Enter the producer’s 11-digit taxpayer number 

assigned by the Comptroller’s office for the lease 
reported in Items 1 and 5.

Item 16. Enter the total of Item 14 (Gross Barrels) minus Item 15 (Governmental 
Royalty Barrels.)

Item 17.Enter the value of the gross barrels reported in Item 14. Enter dollar and 
cents. 

Item 18. 
• Enter the total value of oil not subject to tax because of a governmental exempt status, 
such as a state-owned royalty.  Enter dollar and cents.
• Do not include the value related to any legislative tax incentive reported in Item 7.  
• Rule 3.34, titled “Exemption of Certain Royalty Interests from Oil Occupation taxes and 
Regulation Pipeline Taxes” is available online at comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil/.  
Select the link titled, “Rules.”



Form 10-328-1 (Rev.9-19/2)

Who Must File – First purchasers of crude oil must file a monthly crude oil tax report for purchases of crude oil 
made even if there are no purchases for the month.  If you are no longer an active purchaser, blacken the box 
labeled “FINAL REPORT” and enter the inactive date. 

When To File – File this report on or before the 25th day of each month.  This report must include volumes and 
values of crude oil purchases made from the previous production month.  (Example:  Purchases made during the 
month of July must be reported by August 25th.) If the due date of a report period falls on a Saturday, Sunday or 
legal holiday, the next business day is the due date.

General Information

• Texas first purchasers of crude oil must report all transactions even though another party may 
have assumed the tax liability of a lease or well.  First purchasers must pay the tax due on all 
oil purchased from operators or producers when delivery of oil is made on the lease, unless the 
Comptroller has given another party written authorization to pay the tax.

• First purchasers may not take a delivery of crude oil from an operator or producer unless the 
operator or producer furnishes the purchaser an 11-digit taxpayer identification number assigned by 
the Comptroller.

• Do not change any preprinted data.  If the data is not correct, enter the correct lease information in 
the subsequent blank lines. Preprinted block not used are deleted from your preprinted reports after 
four consecutive months.

• Do not report corrections to previous report periods on this report.  File the “Amended Crude Oil 
Tax – Purchaser Report” (Forms 10-166 and 10-170) to correct previously reported data or to report 
items omitted from your original purchaser report.

• Round all barrels in each reported item to the next whole number.
• Two decimals are required on all dollar values.  Enter dollars and cents.
• Provide your 11-digit taxpayer number when corresponding with our office.

For assistance, call 800-252-1384. Forms, administrative rules, and additional information are available 
online at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil/.

G L E N N  H E G A R       T E X A S  C O M P T R O L L E R  O F  P U B L I C  A C C O U N T S

Instructions for Completing
Texas Crude Oil Tax - Purchaser Report (Form 10-156)

File this report with the 
Purchaser Lease Detail Supplement (Form 10-160)

10-156
10-160

Specific instructions
for completing forms:

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 
 

  

 

 

 

  

 

 
  

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 

10-328-4 
(Rev.9-19/2) 

Instructions for Completing 
Texas Crude Oil Tax Purchaser Report (Form 10-156) 

File this report with the Crude Oil Tax - Purchaser Lease Detail Supplement (Form 10-160)
For assistance, call 800-252-1384. Forms, administrative rules, and additional information are available 

online at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil/. 

RT000000

AB

CD

10-156 
(Rev.7-18/8) AAAA

b. 
b 

a. 36180 

You have certain rights under Chapters 552 and 559, Government Code, to
review, request and correct information we have on file about you. Contact us

at the address or phone number listed on this form. 

b 

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
CRUDE OIL Tax -- PURCHASER Report Page 1 of ______X--X

c. Taxpayer number d. Due date e. Filing period f. h.  FM i.
b b

X-------------X X--------X X--X
X------X

Taxpayer name and mailing addressb b

g. 
*123456 89*

X------------------------------------------------X

X------------------------------------------------X

X--------------------------------------X

X------------------X XX X--------X 

Blacken this box if your address has changed. 
Show changes by the preprinted information. 

1

b

FINAL REPORT - Blacken this box if you are
no longer in business
and enter the last 
business date 

2

b

j. 
If you have nothing to report for ALL leases for this filing period, blacken

this box, sign and date this report, and return it to the Comptroller's office.

X-------------------X 

H

STATEWIDE DATA (Crude oil unidentifiable as to producer, lease, scrubber, salt water disposal, etc.)

1. Statewide barrels 
(See instructions. Enter whole barrels.)  1.

b

2. Net taxable value of designated "statewide" purchases 
(See instructions. Enter dollars and cents.) 

$
 2.
b

SUMMARY DATA (See Instructions)

3. Taxable barrels from lease detail supplements 
(Total from Item 16 on all attached Lease Detail Supplements, Form 10-160. Enter whole barrels.)  3.

b

4. Net taxable value from lease detail supplements 
(Total from Item 20 on all attached Lease Detail Supplements, Form 10-160. Enter dollars and cents.) 

$
 4.
b

5. Total taxable barrels 
(Add Item 1 and Item 3. Enter whole barrels.)  5.

b

6. Total net taxable value 
(Add Item 2 and Item 4. Enter dollars and cents.) 

$
 6.
b

7. Regulatory fee assessment 
(Multiply Item 5 x . See instructions. Enter dollars and cents.) 

$
X.XXXXXX  7.

b

8. Tax due 
(Multiply Item 6 x . Enter dollars and cents.) 

$
X.XXXXXX  8.

b

$
 9. Tax due on leases with exemptions (Type 05 and/ or Type 14)

 (Total of Item 22 from Lease Detail Supplement, Form 10-160. Enter dollars and cents.)
 9.
b

10-156 
(Rev.7-18/8) 

* * * DO NOT DETACH * * * 

$11. Overpayment (Credit Transfer Form for Crude Oil Tax, Form 10-141, must be included.) 11. 

$12. Net amount due (Item 10 minus Item 11)  12. 

$13. Penalty & Interest (If tax is paid after the due date, see instructions.)  13. 

$ 
14. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE (Item 12 plus Item 13)  14.

b

Taxpayer name 
l.

X------------------------------------------------X

T Code Taxpayer number  Period
b b

b

X---X X---------X X--X X Make the amount in Item 14 payable to State Comptroller 

Mail toI declare that the information in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
Comptroller of Public Accounts
P.O. Box 149358 
Austin, TX 78714-9358 

Print name Business phone (Area code and number)

AB

Taxpayer or duly authorized agent Date 
m.

b

777 

1015 00R071808 

$
 10. Total tax and fee due (Add Items 7, 8 and 9. Enter dollars and cents.)  10.

b 

Item 11. File a "Credit Transfer Form for Crude Oil Tax" (Form 10-141) to transfer an outstanding credit amount from different 
report period(s) to this report period for the purpose of offsetting the tax and fee due. 

Item 12. Enter the sum of the “Total tax and fee due” reported in Item 10 and the “Overpayment” reported in Item 11. 

Item 13. If the “Net amount due” in Item 12 is a tax due balance, enter the penalty and interest on the amount reported in 
Item 12. 

• If payment is 1-30 days late after the due date, a 5% penalty is assessed on the tax due balance. 
• If a tax due balance remains after 31 days after the due date, an additional 5% penalty is assessed on the tax due

 balance. 
• Interest begins to accrue on the 61st day after the due date 
• The interest rate varies annually. 
• For current rate information, call our office at 877-447-2834 or visit our website at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/

 file-pay/interest.php. 

Item 14. Enter the sum of the “Net amount due” reported in Item 12 and the “Penalty & Interest” reported in Item 13. 

Item 7. Enter the “Regulatory fee 
assessment.” 
•For report periods beginning with the 
September 2015 period and later, multiply 
the “Total taxable barrels” reported in Item 
5 by the Regulatory Oil Field Clean-up Fee 
of $0.00625. 

•For report periods prior to the September 
2015 period, multiply the “Total taxable 
barrels” reported in Item 5 by the 
Regulatory Oil Field Clean-up Fee of 
$0.008125. This fee is the combined total 
of the Oil Field Clean-up Fee of $0.00625 
and the Regulatory Tax of $0.001875 per 
barrel. Enter dollars and cents. 

Item 8. Enter the “Tax due” by multiplying 
the “Total net taxable value” reported in Item 
6 by the tax rate of $0.046 (4.6%). Enter 
dollars and cents. 

Item 9. Enter the sum of all “Tax Due" 
amounts for Exempt Types “05” and “14” 
that are reported in Line 22 in the "Purchaser 
Lease Detail Supplement(s)", 
Form10-160. Enter dollars and cents. 

Item 10. Enter the sum of the values 
reported as “Regulatory fee assessment” 
in Item 7, plus the “Tax due” reported in 
Item 8, plus the “Tax due on leases with 
exemptions” reported in Item 9. Enter 
dollars and cents. 

Item 1. Enter the total taxable barrels that are 
unidentifiable and do not correspond to a specific 
producer and/or lease. Examples of unidentifiable oil are 
skim oil, tank bottoms, or reclaimed oil as described in 
Administrative Rule 3.33. Round all barrels to the next 
whole number 

Item 2. Enter the total net taxable value of the barrels 
reported in Item 1. Enter dollars and cents. 

Item 3. Enter the sum of all taxable barrels 
reported in Item 16 from all the Lease Detail 
Supplement(s), Form 10-160. Enter as 
whole barrels. 

Item 4. Enter the sum of all net taxable 
values reported in Item 20 from the Lease 
Detail Supplement(s), Form 10-160. Do not 
include values for Exempt Types “05” and 
“14.” Enter dollars and cents. 

Item 5. Enter the sum of the “Statewide 
barrels” reported in Item 1 and the “Taxable 
barrels from lease detail supplements” 
reported in Item 3. Enter whole barrels. 

Item 6. Enter the sum of the “Net taxable 
value of designated ‘statewide’ purchases” 
reported in Item 2 and the “Taxable barrels 
from lease detail supplements” reported in 
Item 4. Enter dollars and cents. 

www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/crude-oil



